HELOC or Cash out Refinance?

S

Sandra T.

My ex boyfriend and I own a house. We've broken up but are on good terms, trying to work with each other to make it as low cost as possible. I've left and rented an apartment, and have *a lot* of credit card payments coming up associated with the cost of the new apartment and all the furniture, payments, etc. On top of that I'm a teacher so I have zero income during the summer. My checking account is almost totally diminished.

Originally we were going to do a HELOC for the amount of money I have tied up in the house, and then work together to pay off the interest. However now he is saying he wants to consider all of his options to make sure he's not paying more interest than he needs to. I'm stressed out because the HELOC is almost completely underway (should be able to access it this week or next week), and I *need* the funds in order to avoid interest on my credit cards.

Here is our financial information for the house for reference:

15 year conventional mortgage (taken out in 2016)
current principle balance: $193,099
current interest rate: 2.625%

amount I have in the house (that I want out): $40,000

*possible interest rate on HELOC: ??
*possible interest rate if we refinance to 30yr and do a cash out for my $40k: 3.42%

SO... HERE ARE MY QUESTIONS:

1. What interest are we looking at overall if we go ahead with the HELOC and pay it off within the next 5 years? He is likely going to sell the house and would have the funds available to pay it off completely. I keep using online calculators but they give me monthly payment plans and I can't figure out what the total cost would be in interest

2. Alternatively... how much more interest would be paid if he refinances to a 30 year mortgage and does a cash out of $40k for me?